Catastrophic failure and a disaster averted.

My darling wife and I were sitting quietly in the lounge room at home on Monday when there came a loud creaking sound from one of the other rooms. This was followed by an even louder cracking sound. We went to investigate the cause of the noise and found my painting cabinet listing heavily with some of the curios stored in it already strewn across the floor. With catastrophic structural failure imminent, my wife braced the cabinet while I raced to recover everything out of it.

I should explain that the cabinet was huge and featured a slide out desk top and drawer, many cubby holes and shelves for storage, and inbuilt lighting. It stood about four foot high and five foot wide, with a two and half foot depth. It was a massive cabinet that also acted as storage for miniatures and rules. The miniatures were of course saved first and no casualties were suffered. Paints, tools and rules were rescued next, along with various ornaments.

With the potential disaster of broken miniatures and paint everywhere averted, the cabinet  finally collapsed. A quick examination of the carcass revealed a major internal structural weakness that led to the catastrophic failure. So as I cleaned up the after the titanic disaster I could only think where am I going to put everything?

2 thoughts on “Catastrophic failure and a disaster averted.

  1. Man alive that was a close shave!
    As I was reading I thought for a moment you were going to say that the floor had given way. That was such a useful piece of furniture too, I really hope you can find some new way of accommodating your stuff. Is the cabinet beyond repair?

    Like

Leave a Reply

